Fanthropological

#4 - Twilighters

Fanthropological
#4 - Twilighters
/

Love them or hate them, they have definitely been a very visible and vocal fandom, even in the mainstream. This week, we're talking about fans of the Twilight movies and books: Twilighters. What happens when fandoms hit the mainstream? What's the backlash like? What was it that allowed the franchise to connect people across different generations? We cunningly avoid taking sides, and instead focus in on what defines Twilight fans. Everyone's a fan! Find more like this: [fanthropological.com](http://fanthropological.com)Find us on social media Twitter: [@thenickscast](http://twitter.com/thenickscast) Instagram: [@thenickscast](http://instagram.com/thenickscast) Facebook: [fb.com/thenickscast](http://fb.com/thenickscast) Youtube: [youtube.com/thenickscast](http://youtube.com/thenickscast) Email us about fandoms you want to hear about: [[email protected]](mailto:[email protected]) Play-by-play 00:00 – Cold Open 00:04 – Theme Song 00:29 – Introduction 01:03 – Who are the Twilighters? 05:07 – Trivia 19:07 – When fandom hits the mainstream 43:13 – Cross-generational fandom 57:57 – Community Post 61:12 – Spotlight: [Her Eternal Moonlight](http://hereternalmoonlight.com) 63:52 – Goodbye! 65:00 – Outtakes Citations ["Tree Graveyard – Forks, Washington"](http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/tree-graveyard) ["Awesome Places (Arguably) Ruined By Popular Books"](http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/awesome-places-arguably-ruined-by-popular-books) ["Twilight | Forks Washington Chamber of Commerce"](http://forkswa.com/twilight/) ["Teen 'Twilight' Vampire Tourism: Volterra's Battle for Authenticity"](http://www.spiegel.de/international/europe/teen-twilight-vampire-tourism-volterra-s-battle-for-authenticity-a-690073.html ) ["Forever Twilight in Forks"](http://forkswa.com/forevertwilightinforks/) ["Crazy Twilight Fans"](http://oddculture.com/crazy-twilight-fans/) ["When 'Twilight' Fandom Becomes Addiction"](http://articles.latimes.com/2010/jun/27/entertainment/la-ca-twilight-addiction-20100627) ["Stephenie Meyer 'Twilight' Author Q&A 'Austenland' Keri Russell Movie"](http://variety.com/2013/film/news/qa-stephenie-meyer-twilight-author-trades-undead-for-well-bred-in-austenland-1200577471/) ["Midnight Parties to Rage on at Walmart Despite 'Twilight' Ending"](http://variety.com/2013/digital/news/midnight-parties-to-rage-on-at-walmart-despite-twilight-ending-1200001723/) ["Studios Love and Fear Fans"](http://variety.com/2010/film/columns/studios-love-and-fear-fans-1118021212/) ["South Korean Werewolf Romance Eclipses 'Twilight' with 6.5 Million Admissions"](http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/south-korean-werewolf-romance-eclipses-twilight-396698) ["Twilight fans: No wonder they are called Twihards - Telegraph"](http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/film-news/9675725/Twilight-fans-No-wonder-they-are-called-Twihards.html) ["Twilight Ruined Comic-Con - YouTube"](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZbA1a7M7nx0) ["How the Nerds Lost Comic-Con - The Atlantic"](http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2013/07/how-nerds-lost-comic-con/313106/) ["When Comic Con Ruined Twilight – A Look Back At San Diego 2011 - Bleeding Cool Comic Book, Movie, TV News"](http://www.bleedingcool.com/2011/07/26/when-comic-con-ruined-twilight-a-look-back-at-san-diego-2011/) ["Is this Comic-Con? Fans debate 'mainstream' panels - CNN.com"](http://www.cnn.com/2010/SHOWBIZ/07/22/is.this.comicon/) ["What Belongs at Comic-Con and who decides?"](http://thestake.org/2013/08/16/what-belongs-at-comic-con-and-who-decides/) ["Twilight - Fanlore"](https://fanlore.org/wiki/Twilight) ["The Twilight Fandom Has Very Strong Feelings About the New Gender-Swapped Novel"](http://www.eonline.com/ca/news/703589/the-twilight-fandom-has-very-strong-feelings-about-the-new-gender-swapped-novel) ["Twilight Fandom - Wikipedia"](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twilight_fandom) ["How fangirls changed the future of publishing"](http://kernelmag.dailydot.com/issue-sections/features-issue-sections/10789/twilight-fandom-publishing-motu/) ["The Twilighters Are Mad, And They're Not Going To Take Our Crap Anymore"](http://jezebel.com/5343390/the-twilighters-are-mad-and-theyre-not-going- to-take-our-crap-anymore) ["Does Twilight Really Ruin Real-Life Romance?"](http://entertainment.time.com/2012/11/16/does-twilight-really-ruin-real-life-romance/) Credits Music: "Nocturne in C Minor", Frederic Chopin - Diana Hughes "Moonlight Sonata", Ludwig van Beethoven - Paul Pitman "Fur Elise", Ludwig van Beethoven - Simone Renzi Logo: ["Glasses"](https://thenounproject.com/term/glasses/132894) by [Anton Anuchin](https://thenounproject.com/antonwebium) used under [CC BY 3.0](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/) ["Apple"](https://thenounproject.com/term/apple/691380) by [Arthur Shlain](https://thenounproject.com/ArtZ91) used under [CC BY 3.0](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/) ["Vampire Fangs"](https://thenounproject.com/term/vampire-fangs/600693) by [Artem Kovyazin](https://thenounproject.com/kosmofish) used under [CC BY 3.0](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/)
Brought to you by The Nickscast of Fanthropological