Fanthropological

#12 - Christmas Fans

Fanthropological
#12 - Christmas Fans
/

As we get closer to the new year, the Nickscast explores a seasonal fandom: Christmas fans? Is there really a fandom for Christmas? If so, what is it? What is it about Christmas? Be sure to deck the halls, and settle in (but not for a long winter's nap!) as we get to the 'Why' of Christmas fandom! Everyone's a fan! Find more like this: [fanthropological.com](http://fanthropological.com) Find us on social media Twitter: [@thenickscast](http://twitter.com/thenickscast) Instagram: [@thenickscast](http://instagram.com/thenickscast) Facebook: [fb.com/thenickscast](http://fb.com/thenickscast) Youtube: [youtube.com/thenickscast](http://youtube.com/thenickscast) Email us about fandoms you want to hear about: [[email protected]](mailto:[email protected]) Play-by-play 00:05 - Theme Song 00:24 - Introduction 02:02 - Who are Christmas Fans? 02:58 - Trivia 17:30 - What is it about Christmas Fans? 39:41 - Fans of the week: Mick Foley on Santa Claus and belief in Christmas magic 53:32 - New year plans for the podcast? 59:08 - Spotlight: [The Internet Archive!](http://archive.org/donate) 1:01:40 - Goodbye! 1:03:18 - Outtakes Citations ["Christmas Fans - Rankings - Anime :: Manga"](http://christmasfans.com/) ["12 Reasons To Be A Christmas Enthusiast"](https://www.theodysseyonline.com/12-reasons-to-be-christmas-enthusiast) ["Confessions Of A Hardcore Christmas Enthusiast | Thought Catalog"](http://thoughtcatalog.com/kathryn-kvas/2014/12/confessions-of-a-hardcore-christmas-enthusiast/) ["The Christmas Enthusiast - Light Knights"](http://lightknights.ca/christmas-enthusiast/) ["About | International Santa Trackers Association"](http://santatrackers.org/about/) ["Christmas junkies call to arms - Christmas Fan Club"](http://www.christmasfanclub.com/forum/christmas/general-christmas-discussion/4955-christmas-junkies-call-to-arms) ["Mick Foley Explains How He Became Santa Claus"](http://www.slate.com/articles/life/holidays/2012/12/becoming_santa_claus_a_pro_wrestler_learns_the_secrets_of_father_christmas.html) ["Why Japan is Obsessed with Kentucky Fried Chicken on Christmas | Arts & Culture | Smithsonian"](http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/why-japan-is-obsessed-with-kentucky-fried-chicken-on-christmas-1-161666960/) ["Christmas Expo|Learn about holiday lighting"](http://www.christmasexpo.com/) ["Community for Christmas Fanatics - Christmas Fan Club"](http://christmasfanclub.com/) ["Christmas Stay Auction | A Christmas Story House"](http://www.achristmasstoryhouse.com/christmas-stay-auction/) ["r/Christmas: What are Some Christmas Traditions You like to do During the Holidays? Why do you Love Christmas so Much"](https://www.reddit.com/r/christmas/comments/2dafmc/what_are_some_christmas_traditions_you_like_to_do/) ["r/Christmas: Why do You Love Christmas"](https://www.reddit.com/r/christmas/comments/2efr3i/why_do_you_love_christmas/) ["r/Christmas: Why do You Believe in Christmas"](https://www.reddit.com/r/christmas/comments/14t6xf/why_do_you_believe_in_christmas/) ["Reasons Why Christmas is a Terrible Holiday"](https://newrepublic.com/article/115994/reasons-why- christmas-terrible-holiday) ["Madrid Christmas Parade - Los Cerrillos, New Mexico"](http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/madrid-christmas-parade) ["Bronner's Christmas Wonderland - Frankenmuth, Michigan"](http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/bronners-christmas-wonderland) ["Christmas Eve in the Trenches"](http://www.openculture.com/2008/12/christmas_in_the_trenches.html) ["Christopher Hitchens Gets Contrarian on Christmas from the Grave (Plus Some Tom Lehrer)"](http://www.openculture.com/2011/12/christopher_hitchens_gets_contrarian_on_christmas.html) ["Gift Giving Tradtions Around the World in a Handy Infographic"](http://www.openculture.com/2012/12/gift_giving_traditions_around_the_world.html) ["A brief history of the ugly Christmas sweater"](http://newsfeed.time.com/2011/12/22/a-brief-history-of-the-ugly-christmas-sweater/) ["This is the most popular Christmas song ever"](http://time.com/3613551/christmas-song/) Credits Music: _"Carol of the Bells"_ by Mykola Leontovych, performed by Michel Rondeau via [musopen.org](http://musopen.org) used under [CC PL 3.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/legalcode) _"Deck the Halls (brass arr.)(Trad.)"_ performed by Michel Rondeau via [musopen.org](http://musopen.org) used under [CC PL 3.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/legalcode) _"Joy to the World"_ by Lowell Mason, performed by Michel Rondeau via [musopen.org](http://musopen.org) used under [CC PL 3.0](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/legalcode) Logo: ["Glasses"](https://thenounproject.com/term/glasses/132894) by [Anton Anuchin](https://thenounproject.com/antonwebium) used under [CC BY 3.0 US](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/) ["Christmas Ornament"](https://thenounproject.com/term/christmas-ornaments/715251) by [Made Somewhere](https://thenounproject.com/made.somewhere) used under [CC BY 3.0 US](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/us/)
Brought to you by The Nickscast of Fanthropological